Celtic title win fastest in 85 years

Written by admin on 07/30/2019 Categories: 苏州美睫

Celtic claimed the fastest Scottish title win in 85 years when they sealed their 45th crown with a resounding a 5-1 win over Partick Thistle.


It is the earliest the Scottish top flight title has been won since 1928/29, when Rangers won it on March 16.

Anthony Stokes got the party started early on Wednesday night as he headed Celtic into a third minute lead before substitute Liam Henderson grabbed his first goal for the Hoops just four minutes after coming on at the interval.

Stefan Johansen then drilled an unstoppable shot past Paul Gallacher in the 53rd mintue and Leigh Griffiths and Stokes both had efforts ruled out for offside before Christie Elliott netted an 85th minute consolation for Thistle

Stokes sent a sensational strike past Gallacher before Kris Commons had the final word with a goal in the third minute of stoppage time to send Celtic 26 points clear of Aberdeen with seven games remaining and seal a 45th league championship.

The Hoops have dropped just nine points on their relentless march to the title, tasting defeat just once in a season where ‘keeper Fraser Forster set a new Scottish shut-out record of 1,256 minutes.

It is a third successive league title for Celtic and manager Neil Lennon, who celebrated four years in the job on Tuesday, to add to the five championships he clinched as a player with the Parkhead club.

Aberdeen’s draw with Ross County on Tuesday meant the Hoops fans arrived at Firhill in jubilant mood knowing that a win would clinch a third title success in a row.

They didn’t have long to wait for the party to get into full swing as Stokes headed Celtic in front with just over two minutes on the clock.

Emilio Izaguirre swung the ball over from the left and the Irish striker was left unmarked in the box to nod past Gallacher from close range.

However, the expected goal glut didn’t materialise and Thistle slowly began to get a foothold in the game without really troubling Forster.

Former Dundee United player Prince Bauben tried to pick his spot from 20 yards but saw his shot blocked before Kallum Higginbotham curled a free-kick harmlessly wide.

Celtic’s leading scorer Commons then floated a free-kick over the bar while Griffiths dragged a shot well wide from long range.

Henderson replaced Adam Matthews at the interval and the 17-year-old took just over three minutes to open his account for Celtic.

Izaguirre’s cross was dummied by Commons and Griffiths before arriving at the feet of the galloping Henderson who sent an angled drive beyond Gallacher.

Johansen sealed the win in the 53rd minute. Griffiths touched the ball into the path of the Norwegian midfielder who drove into the box past two Thistle defenders and drilled an unstoppable shot beyond the keeper for his second goal in two games.

Elliott claimed a consolation in the 85th minute when he chested down a high ball that was misjudged by Virgil van Dijk and cracked a shot past Forster.

Stokes added a fourth in the first minute of stoppage time when he collected a pass from substitute Samaras and sent a sensational strike past Gallacher from the edge of the box.

Commons rounded off the win in the third minute of stoppage time when Samaras set him up to drill a shot beyond the keeper from close range to send the Celtic fans wild.

Comments Off on Celtic title win fastest in 85 years